Aside

Bravery. Love.

Heard, read, seen… However you encounter these two words, what do you think of when you do?

Do you perhaps think of Katniss Everdeen, the woman who dared to take on a corrupt government, to take on the world for her sister?

Does Harry James Potter come to your mind, the boy/man who greeted death like an old friend?

Do you think of Victoria Soto, the late young teacher who hid her students in the Connecticut shooting?

A family member or a friend, do they flit across your vision?

Why?

I think of all those mentioned, and more. The first person to enter my mind, however, is my best friend, Sami. She is.. She is brave. She is a personification of love.

Despite what she’s been through, she lives. She lives every single day, and for that, she is brave. She continues to walk on; she continues to see the sun rise and fall of each day. We all have a story. We all come from something. Some can’t survive it. Some do. I think they’re all brave by their own right.

Sami… Oh, my dearest Sami… It’s because we’re so different that you lift me up, that you remind me every single day just how wonderful and beautiful this life is.

Every time you and I speak, I recall the following lyrics:

What if Your blessings come from raindrops,

What if Your healing comes from tears;

What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near?

I think of Blessings (Laura Story) because… I can see what you do not. YOU are a blessing. You honestly did come into my life like a single raindrop on a sunny day; very random… At first, I didn’t think you had much to do with me. Oh if I’d only known…

You, my dear, are healing… I know, it might not seem like it, you can’t see it at first… Just trust me. I can see it. I can feel it. But you are also like a medicine to me. You heal me. You HAVE healed me. I didn’t realise it at first, either.

You and I have both had those nights where sleep simply will not come, whatever the reason, be it obvious or not. This verse makes me think of you/you make me think of it because, ultimately, I could stay up all night talking to you. You bring me, have brought me, closer to God.

Thank you for everything you’ve done. Thank you so much.

I don’t know if you can see it, I don’t know if you’ll believe it, but you truly are so strong, brave… Like I told you the other day, bravery isn’t always about not being afraid. It’s also about being terrified out of your fucking mind and still standing still against the hurricane, still fighting for what you believe in.

I cannot thank you enough for all you’ve done; I cannot tell you how much you brighten this world.

You are the sun in my sky, you are my biggest blessing, you are my rock, you’re my Wilson, my sister…Sami, you are my God-given solace.

I truly hope you all have an absolutely wonderful Christmas, God bless you all.

Mine definitely started out fantastic (told my dad I’m bisexual, he said he’s proud of me), and I hope it continues and ends as such.

Happy Christmas,

Cate

Bravery and Love

Leave a Reply

